Wyncode Academy Blog Posts

Read about South Florida’s first development bootcamp

Pitch Day VII Winners and Update on Future Leaders of Tech Scholars

Pitch Day VII Winners and Update on Future Leaders of Tech Scholars

Written by Administrator on 23rd November 2015, 7:50 PM

The LAB Miami in the Wynwood Arts District buzzed with energy as the Miami Tech community came together for Wyncode’s Pitch Day VII.

From humble beginnings, Wyncode Pitch Day has grown to a quarterly gathering of the who’s who of Miami Tech, with attendance growing from just under 100 people to well over 200 now. Pitch Day is where Wyncoders present  full stack web applications, or apps, that they built from the ground up in their final two weeks of training.


Photos by David Salazar from Dark Matter Collective.

The night started with a networking hour, where Wyncode’s hiring partners met the current crop of Wyncoders before their pitches. Wyncode also hosted a special meet and greet for applicants interested in attending Wyncode and meeting face to face with Miami Tech influencers.

Pitch Day VII was extra special as it marked the graduation date for the first two Future Leaders of Tech Scholarship award winners, Henry Arbolaez and Arielle Dickey- Louis. Thanks to support from the Knight Foundation, the Future Leaders of Tech Scholarship provides two deserving students per cohort an opportunity to attend Wyncode at no cost. Matt Haggman, along with Henry Arbolaez and Arielle Dickey- Louis announced the next two Future Leaders of Tech Scholarship award winners, Jermaine Lang and Aldrin Bustos.


The two were selected earlier in the week after in person interviews by a panel made up of Widny St. Louis (Wyncode grad and developer, TouchSuite), Kiesha Moodie (Teach for America, which is also supported by Knight Foundation) and Derick Pearson (Co-Founder of Code Fever Miami).

The winners of Pitch Day VII are LOGOIT , consisting of Wilfredo Lopez, Alberto Galvez, Leif Steffensen.


The winning group received championship jerseys from the previous Pitch Day winners, a tradition started by Cohort IV. The group also walked away with a $1000 cash prize.

(Photo of winning group with the panel)

The other groups included:

  • Script Rocket= Madelene Campos, Mikel Aizpurua, David Turk
  • Template Traders= Giancarlo Franchini, West Kraemer, Adrian Knapp
  • Doc LOC= Josh Breault, Joseph Ciancio, John Hoeckele
  • Golio= Arielle Dickey, Katherine Beam, Daniel Fusaro
  • TipTroll= Guelmis Cortina, Daniel Brito, Pablo Kaparis
  • First Impression= Henry Arbolaez, Timothy Reen, Stefanie Knapp
  • TEAMMAKE= Jose Cartagena, Matt Rothstein, Daniel Munoz
  • Amazing Grace= Matthew Roche, Bianca Padilla, Carolina Hernandez
  • YouMe3D= Christian Samuel, Miguel Salazar, Paola Baccaro


The star studded lineup of panelists made for an especially exciting event, challenging and supporting the Wyncoders. The panelists included: Matt Haggman, Knight Foundation’s Miami program director; Josh Siegel, the chief technology officer at CareCloud, a leading provider of cloud-based practice management; Marian Phelan, the CEO of Hashrocket, one of the country’s elite Ruby on Rails development companies; and Melissa Krinzman, who as managing director of Venture Architects with over 20 years of experience in advising private companies and nonprofit organizations.

A special thanks to Knight Foundation who were the official presenting partner of the event. Other sponsors who helped make the night special were: Jefes Taco’s and Serendipity Yogurt Cafe.

Are you thinking about learning to code? Wyncode’s currently accepting applications for its January cohort. Learn more and apply at

Originally published on the blog of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

Come to an Upcoming Event

Fill out my online form.